Once-lers Anonymous

“It's not about what it is, it's about what it can become.” ― Dr. Seuss, The Lorax

Green blogging, Once-lering and Getting My Communication On.

on September 5, 2012

And so it begins! This blog has officially been commandeered for a new project, the UA Sustainability Dept.’s “Green Blogger Competition.” Starting earlier this week and continuing until December 1st, the competition invites UA students to blog about sustainability, in all its forms on the local, national and global level.

I’m participating for a whole host of reasons, such as RecycleMania. You’ve heard of it, right? Every year the University posts signs about it, and I think I’ve also seen those progress “thermometers” on signs showing our progress. Did you know we’ve been in the lead of the SEC three times? I had no idea! Awareness, right there! 🙂

The formal list, in no particular order:

1) I’m a journalism major. Writing is kind of my passion.

2) I need a kick in the pants to produce content on a regular basis.

3) I’ve been interested in eco-friendliness/sustainability for a while, but just been lazy about acting and learning more.

And actually, I had thought about doing different monthly focuses this semester on subjects I’ve always wanted to learn more specifics about (eco-ness, cooking, finances, the works). See reason 2 for why this has not happened.

What to Expect

Lorax references. An inordinate amount of them. Dr. Seuss’s “The Lorax” was actually my favorite Seuss tale as a kid. And I’m watching/listening to it in the background of my laptop as I write this, hence my blog’s new title and sub-head. So prepare yourselves.

As far as topics, they will be varied. I want to talk about building practices, local sustainability, politics, you name it. No, literally, please name it. The whole point of this competition is to increase awareness, understanding and conversations surrounding sustainability. You’ll talk a lot more if you actually care about the stuff I’m sharing.

Leave a comment! It’s not a commitment, just the first step in helping ME correct my Once-lering ways!

-Hailey

2 responses to “Green blogging, Once-lering and Getting My Communication On.

  1. Jeff Payne says:

    I wanna hear you talk about all of it. And that’s not me being lazy, that’s me being serious.

    • haileyray says:

      Well are there any specific areas where you want to know more, or things you want to hear about first? I need a little direction, the sustainability world is a large place! 🙂

Leave a Reply

